Dyeing

I should be writing about the moment of death in philosophical exercises – but dyeing is much more fun.  And like with dying you never really know what’s going to happen however much you think about it before hand.

Here are two long skirts I threw into the machine with the Dylon ‘Antique Grey’ shade:

white to marl grey

I thought the white skirt would turn out a very dark grey but the fabric must have been something very strange (I’d cut out the label ages ago so it wouldn’t show through!) –  it must have been viscose and something unheard of.  But the light variegated greys with darker flecks are really pretty.  Better than I could have planned myself.

man made chaos

The rose pink skirt I had tired of with its tiny flower pattern has gone much closer to the expected dark grey colour but with a now purple and green pattern showing through:

tired of pink

…and the less than beautiful synthetic elasticated waist:

Grey roses

So now I have two new skirts!  And the urge to rifle through my wardrobe for more cotton subjects for my experiments…

 

 

 

He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you.

