Introducing: spontaneous generation

following somethingspontaneous and somethingreactive I am attempting to plough on with spontaneous generation…

I’m so attached to my old teenage spawned email format that I thought it should be taken over to my crafting activities and what better than the archaic theory behind the growth of mould, maggots and flies to describe my creative efforts.

And by appealing to this disproved theory I hope to draw your attention to the processes by which things are brought into being.  Nothing comes from nothing, so they say, and just as the maggot owes its being to the fly, so the crocheted mug warmer owes its being to the ubiquitous stash of cheap acrylic yarn and the desire for the speedy gratification of a completed project.

I hope to start bringing my (non-synthetic) wares to a paying audience in the near future.  As a glimpse of things to come, this is my own phone sock knitted from 100% wool tweed:

fairisle phonesock

He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you.

