Purple Craze!

I’ve been on a bit of a purple kick.  I don’t know whether I mentioned the colour of my wonderful new internet box but comPURPLEtron is not the only purple presence in my life at the moment.

Hello, ComPURPLEtron!
Hello, ComPURPLEtron!

I have these colour affections which phase in and out of my life.  Recently it was that shade of orangey red which my nail varnish tells me is ‘urban coral’.  I never did get a yarn in that shade but I did see a fabulous madeleintosh colour way that was made up into one of my favourite versions of ‘Japan Sleeves’ on ravelry.

Celtic cross - my go to spread and very compatible with telling stories about transitions in your life through speculating on the influences on the recent past, present and immediate future.
Celtic cross – my ‘go to’ spread and very compatible with telling stories about transitions in your life through speculating on the influences on the recent past, present and immediate future.  The Rider-Waite based Shadowscapes Tarot with PURPLE backs.

My latest pack of tarot cards – tarot for me being an exercise in narrative contemplation and imagination rather than any belief in my possessing magical divinatory powers – is the ‘Shadowscapes Tarot’ by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law.  I think I probably found her work through Tumblr – my favourite visual magpie site.  She does some beautiful work, incorporating botanical elements into her watercolour and ink paintings.  Her photographs of works in progress are fascinating with the sparkling gold and translucency of watercolour shining like jewels.

Queen of Pentacles - I'm very drawn to this card in the Shadowscapes deck. She emanates an Earth Mother vibe, grounded in the element connected with this suit.
Queen of Pentacles – I’m very drawn to this card in the Shadowscapes deck. She emanates an Earth Mother vibe, grounded in the element connected with this suit.

It’s interesting to see how such delicately textured work will translate into a mass produced tarot deck.  She has published the paintings in book format focused on larger scale reproductions as ‘The Art of the Shadowscapes Tarot’.  The deck itself has a great deal of detail in each card and lends itself well to a ruminative interpretation of each card – the tiny fairy folk or creatures in the edges of each scene offering further aspects of each card to consider as you inspect it.  But it is to her credit that it seems that some of the beauty and details have been lost in sizing the paintings down to fit the 7x12cm cards.

Queen of Swords - I like modern interpretations (often from a female perspective) of this card. Less miscarriage and loss, more power through experience.
Queen of Swords – I like modern interpretations (often from a female perspective) of this card. Less miscarriage and loss, more knowledge as power through experience.

The pale irridescent lilac borders to the cards and dominant purple and blue green hues of the swords and cups made me realise that I’m mad for the purple at present.  I’m seeing it everywhere:

In the tropical house at Duthie Park - thinking of the Queen of Swords
In the tropical house at Duthie Park – thinking of the Queen of Swords and her purple lilies.

And I found a purple blouse and purple notebook jumping into my life.

A frivolous expense. But it cheers me up at work.
A frivolous expense. But it cheers me up at work.

And of course…

Squishy fluffy baby camel and merino. And it glows! PURPLE!

Purple yarn!  This is the Dye for Wool shade: Poisoned by love – a far less gothic name than they usually go for.  Kleptomaniacal Orchid plans for this one.  But I’m still ploughing on with my ‘T’ dress.  I haven’t thrown it out of the window and managed to affix the neck trim securely if not very beautifully – I don’t think my pride will bear any close up photos of the top stitching!  And I think it helped while I was creeping round the neckline clipping, pinning and basting that I had such lovely random batik blooms to keep me entertained with mad shades of orange and green.  And Purple!

DSCN6021
This neck is never going to lie flat but at least it’s got exciting purple patches to lend it some beauty of sorts.

 

He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you.

